Ngā Whakaahua

Photography

Card Index "A", "B", and "1/1" [AAQT 6428]

This index is held on 549 microfiche sheets in the Wellington Reading Room. These give access to the negative numbers of the three series: 

• "A" Black and White Negatives and Prints [AAQT 6401]

• "1/1" Black and White Negatives and Prints (predecessor series) [AAQT 6403]

• "B" Black and White Prints(successor series) [AAQT 6421]

Once a negative number is found you can consult ‘ticksheet’ binders of series 6401, 6403, & 6421 in our Reading Room. These are organised by negative number. 

The ticksheet binders list the photographic formats held for each image, such as a negative or print or both. Negative description sheets and nitrate description sheets are also contained in these binders. 

Negatives and small contact test prints from these series are held in secure, temperature-controlled stack areas. Contact us to get access.

Larger reference prints [Series 6403 & 6539 – the latter mainly 'A' 6401 & 'B' 6421 images] are available in the reading room. These are arranged by negative number within each series. They are enclosed in mylar - polyester -covers with a backing card to give better protection, and the reverse of each print has brief details:

• negative number

• photographer

• subject

• date 

Most photographs from the National Publicity Studio’s Black and White File Prints [AAQT 6539] have been digitised and are available as JPEG images on Collections search.

Many entries in the negative registers and negative card indexes are stamped or annotated "withdrawn" which means negative withdrawn from loan.

In many cases the original negatives and prints are held by the Alexander Turnbull Library Some prints corresponding to negatives in the collection are held in the Special Collections, Auckland City Library.

"1/1" Black and White Negatives and Prints [AAQT 6403] 

The negatives and prints in this series, which appear to date from c1913 to the 1940s, were created to publicise New Zealand, both locally and overseas. Most of the images include scenery, places and Māori. 

Negatives 

The negative numbers for the images in this series have no prefix. The series began as full plate glass negatives, then went to nitrate and some safety film negatives. These are stored separately for preservation reasons. 

Photographs 

The black and white reference prints from this collection have been separated from the negatives and are available in the Reading Room.

The prints are arranged numerically by negative number. They are enclosed in mylar covers with a backing card to give better protection, and the reverse of each print has brief details: negative number, photographer, subject, and date. 

It appears that Series 6403 was used as a source of images for, or at least shared images with, Series 8315 NZ Government Publicity Glass Lantern Slides, and possibly also Series 6493 'HC' Glass Lantern Slides. These two series, comprising images designed to promote and market New Zealand, focus primarily on shots of scenery, places and Māori. Other sources for the series include individual photographers and firms such as Burton Brothers and Muir & Moody. 

For further information on the origins of photographic images, see the series document for Series 8315. 

Cross-checking of the glass lantern slide numbers and images [Series 8315] against numbers and descriptions in the negative registers and card indexes which control Series 6403 has been undertaken. This has shown that a considerable proportion of the slides match the numbers and descriptions of images from Series 6403. 

It is likely that the publicity collections assembled for use in Australia [Series 8315] and New Zealand [Series 6493] drew on images included in Series 6403, or that the three series shared images used by the Tourist and Health Resorts Department from 1901 to the 1940s. 

"A" Black and White Negatives and Prints [AAQT 6401] 

The negatives and prints in this series were created to publicise New Zealand, both locally and overseas. The negatives are numbered from A1 to A100,000, after which a new sequence was started in 1972.

"B" Black and White Negatives and Prints [AAQT 6421] 

In this series, which started in 1972, the glassine bags have the negative number written on them. A few empty bags have "Transferred to R series" and the "R" negative number on them. These are 6 x 6cm negatives now in the "R" negative drawers [AAQT 6418].  For negatives that have been transferred into mylar sleeves, information from the glassine bags has been noted down onto a description sheet. From about negative number B2900, the year is also shown, i.e.: B9238/76, up to 23423/87, the last negative in the series. 

The images were created to publicise New Zealand, both locally and overseas.

• "0" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6468]

• "ASPAC" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6536]

• "CD" Colour Transparencies [AAQT 6465]

• "CG" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6469]

• "CN" Colour Negatives [AAQT 6420]

• "Cook" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6464]

• "CR" and "CN" File Prints [AAQT 6541]

• "CR" Colour Negatives [AAQT 6419]

• "ER" Colour Negatives [AAQT 6473]

• "EX" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6467]

• "H" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6423]

• "HC" Lantern Slides [AAQT 6493]

• "MB" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6422]

• "P" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6476]

• "PA" Black and White & Colour Negatives [AAQT 6472]

• "PATA" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6463]

• "QM" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6474]

• "R" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6418]

• "RA" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6533]

• "RV" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6475]

• "S" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6535]

• "TC" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6425]

• "TCC" Black and White Negatives [AAQT 6462]

• "TD" Colour Transparencies [AAQT 6466]

• "WA" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6404]

• "X" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6424]

• "XA" Colour Transparencies [AAQT 6470]

• "XD" Colour Transparencies [AAQT 6471]

• "Z" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQT 6402]

• Black and White File Prints [AAQT 6539]

• Royal Visit 1953 Black and White Prints [AAQT 6538]

• DAC Communicate NZ - photographic negatives, prints and transparencies [ABIS 6534]

• "R" series negatives and prints; ''PA'' series negatives and prints; miscellaneous negatives and prints ("CD'', "TD" series and unidentified) [ABIS W4025]

Volumes include the following: 

• negative number

• title of photograph

• photographer

• date taken

• date accessioned

• "1/1" Negative Register [AAQT 6437] 

• "A" Negative Register [AAQT 6439] 

• "B" Negative Register [AAQT 6440] 

• "Auckland" Negative Register [AAQT 6454] 

• "AV/3D" Register [AAQT 6453]  

• "C" Transparency Register [AAQT 6441]  

• "CD" Transparency Register [AAQT 6448] 

• "CN" Negative Register [AAQT 6443] 

• "CR" Negative Register [AAQT 6444] 

• "Image Resource" Negative Register [AAQT 6461]  

• "MB" Negative Register [AAQT 6442] 

• "MD" Transparency Register [AAQT 6451] 

• "PA" Negative Register [AAQT 6460] 

• "PD" Negative Register [AAQT 6452]  

• "R" Negative Register [AAQT 6447] 

• "TD" Transparency Register [AAQT 6446]  

• "XA" Transparency Register [AAQT 6445] 

• "XD" Transparency Register [AAQT 6449] 

• "Z" Negative Register [AAQT 6455] 

The index cards have the negative number or numbers on the top left corner. Also entered is the title of the photograph a few have more detailed descriptions. 

Later cards have the name of the photographer and the date taken. 

Many cards have ‘WITHDRAWN’ either stamped or hand-written on them. This means the negative was withdrawn from use.  The cards are generally divided every 100 negative numbers.

• Card Index "1/1" [AAQT 6435]

• Card Index "B" [AAQT 6427]

• Card Index "A" [AAQT 6426]

• Card Index "A", "B", and "1/1" [AAQT 6428]

• Alphabetical Card Index "AV/3D" [AAQT 6430]

• Card Index "920 - Portraits" [AAQT 6436]

• Card Index "AV/3D" [AAQT 6431]

• Card Index "C" [AAQT 6458]

• Card Index "CD" [AAQT 6433]

• Card Index "CR" & "CN" [AAQT 6429]

• Card Index "H" [AAQT 6457]

• Card Index "L" [AAQT 6459]

• Card Index "MB" [AAQT 6484]

• Card Index "TD" [AAQT 6434]

• Card Index "U" [AAQT 6456]

• Card Index "WA" [AAQT 6432]

• Card Index "X" [AAQT 6483]

• 1963 Royal Visit Book [AAQT 6738]

• Photograph Album [AAQT 7976]

• Photograph Albums [AAQT 6540]

• L Negative and Print Books [AAQT 6490]

National Film Unit

• Film Stills [AAPG W3939] 

• Posters & photographs [AAPG W3942 boxes 7 and 8] 

• Films and Colour Slide Sets [AAPG W3334] 

• Lantern slides - publicity shots for tourism, probably from the National Publicity Studios image collection [AAPG W3878] 

The black and white reference prints (held in the Wellington Register Room) range from passenger trains and views of carriage interiors to publicity shots, regional railway stations, railway staff, engine workshops and different locomotive models. The photographs range in date from the late 1880s to the 1970s.  Information relating to each image (date, subject, photographer, negative number) is on the back of the prints. This accession contains registers, prints and negatives. Two collections of Second World War photographs are also housed in the cabinets in drawer 73. [AAVK W3493] 

NZ Railways Publicity Photographs and Artwork (primarily artworks; some photographs) [ABIN W3806] 

Access:  Preservation restriction on many negatives. 

• "B" sequence negatives [AAVK 6390] 

• "C" sequence negatives [AAVK 6388] 

• "D" sequence negatives and positives [AAVK 6392] 

• "E" sequence negatives [AAVK 6389] 

• "F" sequence negatives [AAVK 6391] 

• [White label] negatives [AAVK 6407] 

• AG scenic negatives [AAVK 6413] 

• Broken "C" sequence negatives [AAVK 6406] 

• Broken negatives [AAVK 6409] 

• Miscellaneous negatives [AAVK 6411] 

• Single number negatives [AAVK 6408] 

• Unnumbered negatives [AAVK 6412] 

• NZ Government Railways Department, General Manager's Office - Photographs [AAEB W3875] 

• Photographic Report of Visit to New South Wales Railways [AAEB W3015] 

• Mixture of single number and unnumbered glass negatives, non-railway (scenic) subjects [AAVK 6410] 

• Railways Corporation Library - Assorted Records [ABIN W3337] 

The subject index to the Black and White Reference Prints [AAQA 6506] is held in our Wellington Register Room.  Cards are alphabetical by subject and give subject classifications (often typed in red) which you can use to determine which box of photographs to request.  Some also include specific negative references. 

This indexes many of the staff photographs included in the Black and White Reference Prints [AAQA 6506].  Arranged alphabetically by person or group, the cards have both subject classifications (in red) and specific negative numbers. You can trace photographs relevant to staff through Collections search.

• "COL" Colour Negative Caption Index [AAQA 6502] 

• COL Catalogue (Archives) Index [AAQA 6509]

• Black and White Contact Print Registers [AAQA 6504] 

• Colour Slide Caption Registers [AAQA 6514] 

• Negative Registers [AAQA 6505] 

• Photo Library Classification List for Master Copies [AAQA 6528] 

• Black and White Reference Prints [AAQA 6506] 

• "AH" Black and White Negatives [AAQA 6498] 

• A Hansson Personal Black and White Negatives [AAQA 6519] 

• COL Catalogue [Colour Reference Prints] [AAQA 6508] 

• "COL" Colour Negatives and Prints [AAQA 6500] 

• Colour Transparencies Removed 1987 [AAQA 6513] 

• Duplicate "Historical" slides [AAQA 6706] 

• "F" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6398] 

• "FRI" Black and White Negatives [AAQA 6499] 

• "H" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6393] 

• "L" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6394] 

• "M" Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6395] 

• Master Slides [AAQA 6503] 

• Mines Division Black and White Prints [AAQA 6518] 

• Miss Sutherland - Black and White Prints & Negatives [AAQA 6522] 

• No Prefix Black and White Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6400] 

• "NORTHWOOD" Black and White Copy Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6496] 

• NPS "A" and "B" Spare Black andWhite Prints [AAQA 6559] 

• NPS "A" Black and White Negatives [AAQA 6396] 

• NPS No Prefix Black & White Negatives [AAQA 6397] 

• NZR Photo Library Black and White Prints [AAQA 6523] 

• Packets of Black and White Prints [AAQA 6560] 

• Packets of Colour Prints [AAQA 6516] 

• Prints from Negatives Deleted 1986 [AAQA 6531] 

• Radiata Display, Tokyo 1979, Colour Prints [AAQA 6521] 

• Silver Nitrate Black and White Prints [AAQA 6520] 

• "SIMPSON" Black and White Copy Negatives & Prints [AAQA 6495] 

• Spare Prints [AAQA 6501] 

• "TU" Black and White Copy Negatives [AAQA 6497] 

• Unknown Series Black and White Negatives [AAQA 6399] 

• "WA" Black and White Prints [AAQA 6517] 

• “Tauhorakuri Burn-Out Forests” Black and White Prints Albums [AAQA 6526] 

• Photograph Album [AAQA 6527] 

• “Early New Zealand Fotos” Photograph Album [AAQA 6525] 

• “Large Size Fotos” Photograph Album [AAQA 6524] 

In about 1963 all prints were top-numbered into the "DA" black and white print system [6330] DA numbers were assigned to groups of multiple subject numbers for example 58/1/- became DA 22,106 onwards. Once the DA numbers had been given, index cards were made up [6300]. In the late 1960s the prints were reconverted to their original multiple number subject classifications. Most prints also have a dewey number in an attempt at re-classification, but this proved impracticable.  A date stamp on the bottom of a print mount indicates that the photo was published, probably in the Department of Agriculture Journal or Bulletin (BUL). Prints which do not have a Department of Agriculture negative number (i.e. K6302) have the name of the photographer or firm which created the image, i.e. ‘Sparrow Industrial Pictures’ or ‘Miramar Studios’ (a division of the National Publicity Studios). You need to take care as different government agencies often had similarly numbered negative series. 

This series [AANR 6329] was originally available in metal cabinets in the Reading Room. The photographs suffered damage and became disordered, so the series was removed from the Reading Room and re-boxed in August 1998. The disorder of the sequence has been retained pending further listing work, and photographs are listed at subject division level in Collections search. 

Many subject sections were missing when the series was re-boxed and relisted. These classifications have been recorded as missing on the list, although it is also possible that they did not exist when the images were transferred to the then National Archives. The largest 'gap' is in the 57/- sequence of photographs of women. It seems likely this sequence was integrated into another series before transfer. 

Many of the negatives, and their indexes and registers are not listed on Collections search.

• "Photos (Index) from S & W Instructors" [AANR 6311]

• Historical Photo Archive Catalogue (Index to Subject Classification of Prints) [AANR 6303]

• Index to "CURRENT" Photographic Portraits [AANR 6342]

• Card Index "DA" System [AANR 6300]

• "DA" Accession Registers [AANR 6301]

• "MIN" Negative Register [AANR 6308]

• Colour Positives Register [AANR 6326]

• Negative Accession Register "K" & "A” [AANR 6312]

• Negative Changeover Register "K" and "A" [AANR 6309]

• Multiple Number Subject Classification Prints [AANR 6329] 

• “Photographs” [ABLY W4191] 

• "A" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6328] 

• "DA" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6305] 

• "DA" Black and White Prints [AANR 6330] 

• "G" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6340]  

• "K" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6327] 

• "MIN" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6307]  

• "Overseas" Black and White Photographs [AANR 6336] 

• "Pest" Negatives and Transparencies [AANR 6324]  

• "S" Black and White Negatives [AANR 6338] 

• "S" Black and White Photographs [AANR 6334] 

• "Saxby" Black and White Prints [AANR 6335] 

• Black and White and Colour Photographic Portraits "Archive" [AANR 6314]  

• Black and White and Colour Photographic Portraits "Current" [AANR 6313]  

• Envelopes of Photographs [AANR 6321] 

• Glass Plate Negatives "Poultry" [AANR 6315] 

• Glass Plate Negatives of Agricultural Shows [AANR 6323] 

• Medialink Black and White Photographs [AANR 6337] 

• Mixed Format Images by Subject [AANR 6325] 

• Black and White Negatives [AANR 6306] 

• Colour Slides [AANR 6320] 

• “Mr Neale's” Negatives [AANR 6318] 

• Photo Record Cards [AANR 6302] 

• Unsorted Photographs [AANR 6343] 

We hold several First World War photograph collections: 

• Gallipoli Campaign, by Sergeant Jack Hilliard (Permission needed for copies) [WA 254] 

• Various photographs of: NZEF Embarkation, wounded (graphic images) and women’s war effort in Britain [WA 10 6/23] 

• Medal Winners, from Dominion Museum exhibition after the war [AALZ 902] Index to names and list of photographs held in our Wellington Reading Room

• 1st NZ Expeditionary Force in France 1917-1918 by official photographer (H11-H634 with gaps [AALZ 901] Most photographs are general or group shots. A numerical list by print number includes brief descriptions of subject matter. (Many of these photographs are also in the F D Thomson papers) 

• Soldiers overseas (H279-H876 with gaps – two bundles, some duplicates of above) [ACGO 8398 12 & 13]

We hold two major series of Second World War (Pacific) photographs and several smaller series in Wellington:

• Official photographs taken by RNZAF photographers in the Pacific and at home [ADQA 17263 especially 64/1-41] 

• Semi-official and private photographs, mostly army (2 NZEF) but also some navy (RNZN) – Pacific only [ADQZ 18905] 

Other groups of photographic images from the Second World War include: 

• Māori in the armed forces (includes Māori Battalion, Vietnam & Singapore) [AAMK W3495 Box 23 F-Q] 

• Women at War [AAUR W3263 Box 1] 

• Photographs in Public Works Department Official War History Index (also in Appendix L, AD series list binder) [ADQZ 18912/72a] 

• Photographs [ADQZ 18912/72a, 73a, 75a, 77a] 

Photographs can also be found through the Second World War subject card index in Wellington. 

Other institutions, such as the Alexander Turnbull Library and service museums, hold significant collections of Second World War photographs. 

• Albums 1-47 [ADQA 17263/64] 

• Index to Albums 1-47 [ADQA 17263/75e drawers 1-8] 

• Other photographs, in envelopes, boxes, albums [ADQA 17263/65-75]

• Ministry of Defence HQ New Zealand Force South East Asia, Registered Files [AAQG W3789 box 99]

• Photograph albums of Military Advisers Conferences, and one album from the Rosyth Shipbreaking Co [ABFK W3947]

• Exhibition Pictorial Material - Great War Cenotaphs and Memorials [AALZ 904]

• Photographs and plans of defence sites [ABFK W4395]

• Fortifications & works, plans and maps [record group] [AAYS 8684]

• New Zealand Patriotic Fund Board: Photographs of convalescence homes, homes for war veterans and photograph albums [AAOY W3120 Box 2]

See our War research guides for more information.

• Miscellaneous Civil Aviation Historical Records, listed to Town Level on Collections search [AARP 7938] 

• Ministry of Works, listed to town level on Collections search [ACHL19284]

• Antarctic aerial photographs [ABWN 18932] 

• Aerial photographs of aerodromes, road deviations, proposed works; photographs of bridges; maps of Works districts [AADX W3810] 

• Aerial Photographs of Proposed Wellington Motorway Path [AAFH 6365] 

• State Highway Aerial Photographs [AAZZ 7724] 

• Lands & Survey New Plymouth District [ABAJ W4065/61-62] 

This index controls several series: Lands & Survey Prints and Transparencies, Lands & Survey Black and White negatives, Lands & Survey Colour negatives, Lands & Survey Miscellaneous negatives. We do not known how comprehensive the index is or whether it covers the whole of the collections below. [AANS 8136]

• Lands & Survey Black and White Register [1-9065] [AANS 8133] 

These registers record the negative number, date, photographer, place taken and a caption.

• Lands & Survey Black and White Negatives [1-9065] [AANS 8132]

• Lands & Survey Colour Negatives [AANS 8135]

• Lands & Survey Miscellaneous Negatives [AANS 8138]

• Lands & Survey Prints and Transparencies [AANS 8128]

• Photographs of the construction of the Waikaremoana Power Scheme [ADLI 21656]

• Historical photographs - this collection includes events, significant personalities, developments in technology and land use, as documented by the former Lands & Survey Department over many years [ABWN 23196]

• Land Settlement Programme Photographs, listed by town in Collections search [ABJFW4067]

• Bolton Street Cemetery [PAAM W4152]

• Lands & Survey Photographs, Plans and Papers - Te Anau Basin [ABJF W5037]

• Town and Country Planning files, photographs, plans [AATE W4920]

• Lantern Slides of New Zealand created by the New Zealand High Commission, Ottawa [AANM W3168]

• Sequentially Numbered Photographs from the Department of Survey and Land Information, of New Zealand locations [AAFV 6868]

The Aerial Photographs created by Whites Aviation are held by Alexander Turnbull Library.

• Property Photographs and Educational Items [AAAD W3234] 

• Photographs collected by the Physical Education and School Publications Branches, and for the centenary of the Department of Education in 1978 [ACIG 18014] 

• Publication Photographs [AAAD 6011] 

• University Grants Committee [AAMJ W3601/229-235] 

• National Council of Adult Education [ABUE W4651/22] 

• Educational filmstrips (some with teacher notes). Films cover topics such as the Treaty of Waitangi, farming, goldmining and industry in New Zealand, Antarctica, life in Fiji, Māori culture, etc. [AAOJ W4898] 

• Flock House archives collection [ACJU 18130/1-14, 18-26, 30-31, 38-43, 46]

• Taranaki Education Board [ABDU W3570 subseries 13]

• Wellington Education Board and Wellington District School Photographs [ABDM W3569 Boxes 387, 388, 492, 519-523 and 969-974]

• Hawkes Bay Education Board [ABDJ W3568 Boxes 193-195, 216, 225, 227]

• Wanganui Education Board [ABDV W3571 Boxes 1087-1124]

• Nelson Education Board [ABDW W3572/11, 146, 148-150, 512, 519-529]

Te Aro School

• Assorted Photographs [ABHO W4839]

• Assorted records from Te Aro school, including photographs [ABHO W3771 Boxes 7-13]

• Class Photograph 1926 [ABHO W4834]

Clyde Quay School

• Photographs [AAFC 691]

Wellington Girls College

• Mounted Photographs [AANB 885]

• School Photograph Albums [AANB 874]

Berhampore School

• Photographic Material [ABUQ 7172]

Alexander Turnbull Library School Records

• Brooklyn 1902-1961 (including Mornington records) 

• Kilbirnie 1884-1983

• Makara 1885-1972 

• Mt Cook Infants 1882-1935 

• Mt Cook Boys 1881-1925 

• Mt Cooks Girls 1882-1925 

• Mt Cook Main 1926-1978 

• Vogeltown 1883-1902 

• Early records for Mt Cook School 1875-1880 are in the Beaglehole Room, Victoria University, Wellington 

Publication folders [AAAD 699]  

• Transparencies Card Index [AANS 8134]

• Black and White Photographic Prints and Negatives Register [WL1-4658] [AANS 8127] 

• Transparencies, Colour Negative and Glass Lantern Slides [WL1-806] [AANS 8130] 

• Black and White Photographic Prints and Negatives [WL1-2521] [AAND 8125] 

• Black and White Photographic Prints and Negatives [WL1-4658] [AAND 8126] 

• Transparencies, Colour Negative and Glass Lantern Slides [WL1-806] [AANS 8130] 

• New Zealand Fingerprint Photographs [AAXZ 7346] 

• Unregistered Photographs and Miscellaneous Items [Criminal Registration Branch] [AAXZ 6811] 

• Photographs of prisoners 1873-1906 [ACIS 17671] 

• Plate photographs of prisoners, unknown dates [ACIS 17670] 

• Police Gazettes contain photographs of criminals from the early 20th Century onwards [ACIS 17653] 

There are also specific Police Photographic collections and supplements:

• Police Gazettes, Photographs [AAAJ W4928/26-65] 

• Police station records from Hāwera, Ōpunake, Pātea and Normanby, Police Gazette Photographs [AAXZ W4888/2-5] 

Whānganui

• Police Gazettes, Whānganui Records [AAAJ W3100/3-4]

• Photographic Indexes [AANO 7960]

• Indexes to negatives and photographs [AANO W4045]

• Photographic Records [AAQS 6106]

• Job book and Negatives [AANO W3841]

• Job Record Book and Negatives [AANO W4555]

• Negatives and Job Record Books [AANO W3200]

• Photographic Records and Negatives [AANO W3349]

• Napier Prison Registers, New Zealand Police Photographs [AAZC W2542/120-139]

• Negatives showing the interiors and exteriors of prisons, prison workshops and prison farms, 1960s to early 1970s [ABGU 6875]

• Prisons topographical photographs and drawings [AAAR 7205]

• Historical photograph of Dunedin Gaol 1874 [ACIS 17686]

• Aerodrome photographs [record group] [ACHL 19342] 

• Negatives of Scott Base and Glass Plate Negatives - Imperial Airways. Many of these records are missing [AAFE W4318] 

• Civil air accident photographs and transparencies [ABVK 7334]

• Ministry of Transport - Civil Aviation Department - photographs of airports/runways etc [AAZS W3822] 

• Civil Aviation Photographs [ABPT 6778] 

• National Airways Corporation [Air New Zealand] ephemera [AEPK 20231] 

• National Airways Corporation [Air New Zealand] staff photographs [AEPK 19953] 

• National Airways Corporation [Air New Zealand] time capsule [AEPK 20229] 

• Multiple number subject files, photographs from around New Zealand [AATE W4506 Box 18]

• Wellington Motorway Construction [AAFE 783] 

• Road Safety Slides [ABPT 6758] 

• Numerical Road Safety Slides [ABPT 6754] 

• Photographs and negatives recording work of Paeroa Office of the Ministry of Works and Development [AATE 10893]

• Photographs and negatives of lighthouses and navigation aids [ABPL 8848]

• Class Photos of Transport Officers from Trentham Training College [ABPT 6756] 

• Early photographs of Transport Department staff [ABPT 6768] 

• Marine Division Photographs [ABPT 6779]

• Meteorological Service Photographs [ABPT 6780] 

• Miscellaneous Photographs from the Transport Department [ABPT 6781] 

• Numbered Negatives primarily from Trentham Training College [ABPT 6776] 

• Photo Albums from the Transport Department [ABPT 6760] 

• Wellington District Office: Plans of Whitby and Porirua Developments and Photographs of Porirua, Tawa and Elsdon [AAQV W3361] 

• Housing in Porirua (a few photographs) [ABLI W4172] 

• Photographic Records and Assorted Non-Textual Materials. Various identified and unidentified slides, photographs, plans and sketches of state houses and housing developments, plus some photographs of staff and sports teams [AALF 7484]

• Index to State Housing Photographs [AALF 6113] 

• State Housing Photographs [AALF 6112] 

• Photographs of State Housing plans [AALF 6114] 

• Records of CHIP [Community Housing Improvement Programme] and NIA [Neighbourhood Improvement Areas] urban renewal schemes [AALFW 3344] 

• Assorted Photographs [ABKI 667] 

• Graduation photographs [Christchurch School for Dental Nurses] [ABKI 594] 

• Graduation photographs [Auckland School for Dental Nurses] [ABKI 593] 

• Graduation photographs [Wellington School for Dental Nurses] [ABKI 675] 

• Holly Lea Photographs [ABKI 596] 

• Lantern Slides [ABKI 671] 

• Overseas Dental Service Photographs [ABKI 673] 

• Photograph albums [ABKI 672]  

• Photograph albums, Auckland [ABKI 6546] 

• Photograph albums, Christchurch [ABKI 600] 

• Roy Towers Collection: some photographs of Wellington Hospital 1887-1981 [ABRR 7563/9-14]

• Photographs of psychiatric hospitals and training institutions [ADBZ 16168]

• Nursing Division - Mary Lambie Collection [ADBZ 16169/1]

• Nursing Photographs c1920s-1970s [ADEU 16391]

• Photographs, Objects and Film relating to The National Health Institute/ Communicable Diseases Centre [AADJ W2973]

• Department of Scientific and Industrial Research [ABLS 6829]

• Central Institute of Technology [ACFA 8122]

• Cawthron Trust Board records and Cawthron Institute records, some photographs [AALT W3082]

• Cawthron Institute, various records, including some photographs [AALT W4459/20-21, 47]

• Broadcasting Photographs [AAFH 7304]

• Photographs of various subjects, including: personalities (listed alphabetically), Disasters, Industry, Railways, Ships, Sport, War, etc. created by Television New Zealand [ABHJ W3602]

Some are listed to subject level in Collections search some simply to alphabetical range. 

• Telecom Museum Assorted Records [AAMF W3327] 

• Former Post and Telegraph/Telecom Museum Holdings [ACFB 8106] 

• Post Office photographs of early Wellington and early coaching days [record group] [ADAU 17205] 

• Photographs used for 75th Anniversary Exhibition of Tourism and Publicity Department [ABKB 7711/14]

• Colour transparencies [ABKB 8032]. New Zealand scenery, tourist attractions, and visitors. Most images by staff photographers of the Tourist and Publicity Department and the NZ Tourism Board. Others purchased from commercial photographers or tourist operators for use in overseas promotions. 

• Index to colour transparencies [ABKB 8034]. A database of images created by the New Zealand Tourism Board in 1996. This contains low resolution copies of colour transparencies held by the Board [Series 8032], and searchable descriptions of each image. The database can be searched by region, subject keyword and number. 

• Registers of colour transparencies [ABKB 8033]. The registers record the title, date (often photographer and copyright status) of images from the New Zealand Tourism Board's Image Library.