He pakanga anō

Other wars

Fourteen British infantry regiments, the Royal Artillery, and Staff & Service Corps served in the wars in New Zealand, 1845-1847 and 1861-1866. They were eligible for the New Zealand Medal. Some soldiers took their discharge in New Zealand. If they received a pension they may appear in Treasury Registers ADRK 17399 boxes 1-7.

Digitised copies of Muster Books and Pay Lists for each of the British Regiments stationed in New Zealand are available from State Library New South Wales. Records are under reference WO12. You need to know the regiment and dates of service to research a specific person

Royal New Zealand Fencibles

The Fencibles were retired British soldiers who were settled near Auckland. For more information see our Citizenship and migration research guides.

The New Zealand Medal was awarded to nearly all British troops who served in New Zealand in the 1840s and 1860s. However, it was awarded only to New Zealand colonial troops who, on application, could prove they had come under enemy fire during their service.

Our Wellington reading room holds an alphabetical War Medal Card Index which gives references to one or more of the following, depending on what force the individual served with:

• Imperial War Medal Rolls/Register, British. Reference: WO 100/18; REPRO 18

• Register of application for the New Zealand War Medal 1869, Colonial. Reference: AAYS 8665 item 2

• Index to War Medal Register 1869, Colonial. Reference: AAYS 8665 item 4; REPRO 1644

• New Zealand War Medal Register, Colonial. Reference: AAYS 8665 item 2; REPRO 1660

• War Medal Application Files (Colonial) AAYS 8661

All these may give brief details of a soldier’s service. The colonial records include some Maori who fought for the Crown. Appendices to the Journal of the House of Representatives, referred to as AJHR, include lists of many successful colonial medal applicants, particularly in:

• AJHR 1871 G-1 and G-1A

• AJHR 1873-1875 Reference: H-16A, -17, -25 respectively

New Zealand Cross

• Conditions of award and names of holders of the New Zealand Cross November 1868 to September 1956 Reference: AAYS 8661 record 5000

• New Zealand Cross holders 1863-1870 Reference: AAYS 8665 item 1 (Limited information)

The names of New Zealand Cross winners are also included in the Index to War Medals Register. Reference: AAYS 8665 item 4; REPRO 1644

Many different New Zealand colonial forces were raised in the nineteenth century for military, policing and settlement reasons.

Militia 1845-1864

Under the Militia Ordinance 1845, militia units could be raised for temporary service in times of emergency only in the locality where the force was raised. The Militia Act 1858 continued these forces, but also provided for volunteer units. From the 1860s the Militia were replaced by Volunteer Corps. The Militia Rolls which still exist in our Wellington archive are very incomplete. Within the period 1845-1850 there are some Rolls for:

• Auckland [ACGO 8333 box 42] 1845/645; AREPRO 4711/6 (AK)]

• New Plymouth [8333 – see Indexes ACGO 8335 item 2/3 p.514 & IA 3/2/4 p. 203

• Wellington ACFP 8217: see above indexes & registers ACFP 8218 and Auckland Militia Rolls card index in Wellington archive. Nelson and Marlborough Roll 1864 [AD 50/23]

• Nelson and Marlborough Roll 1864: AAYS 8668 record DAG1864/2475 within DAG1864/2484

Volunteer Corps 1860-c1912

Although active earlier, Volunteer Corps were formally recognised by an Act of 1865. They were locally organised forces for local needs. These corps included some Māori.

Corps strength varied between 40 and 100 men. In the later 1860s the total of Volunteers stabilised at about 6000. These forces were active in the Waikato and Bay of Plenty in 1863-1864 and against Titokowaru and Te Kooti 1868-1872.

After the wars of the 1860s and 1870s, the corps were only sporadically active, often in drill halls. An annual ‘capitation’ grant was paid to each officer and ‘efficient’ volunteer, but no training was prescribed.  Uniform varied from group to group, and for many corps their only public appearances were in ceremonial parades.

Under the Defence Act 1909, Volunteer units were superseded by Territorial Army (1910-11).

Existing records of the Volunteer forces are mostly Rolls of various sorts.

• Capitation Rolls 1860-1911 AAYS 8790

• Salaries Rolls 1863-?1912 AAYS 8656

• Band, Cadet & Staff Rolls 1863-?1912 AAYS 8655

Auckland:

• Coromandel Rifle Brigade 1879-1889 ZAAP 15154

• Waikato Militia & Forest Rangers c1866-1870 AAAE 15167

• Paylist of Waikato Military Settlers ZAAN 14147 Box/item 1a

Wellington:

The Wellington reading room has an alphabetical card index to the volunteer corps. Knowledge of a person’s corps can lead to Rolls which list corps members’ pay and attendance at training.

• Capitation Rolls of Volunteer Corps 1860-1886 AAYS 8790

• Salaries Volunteer/volunteer Corps 1863-1872 AAYS 8656

• Band, Cadet & Staff Rolls ?1863-?1912 AAYS 8655

Dunedin:

Volunteer Artillery B Battery:

• Nominal Rolls 1878-1884, with Gun Drill Attendance 1891-1892 DAFF D188 item a

• Nominal Rolls 1883-1903 DAFF D188 item b and DAFF D188 item c

Colonial Defence Force 1863-1867

The Colonial Defence Act 1862 authorised the formation of the first Regular Force in New Zealand. Several Special Forces, such as the Forest Rangers see Volunteer Corps, were also raised. The Wellington archive holds:

• ‘Return of Names of members of the Colonial Defence Force 1865 AEBE 18507 1865/110 REPRO 76

• Card index to the above, Wellington Reading Room

The Colonial Defence Force was disbanded on 22 October 1867. Many members transferred to the Armed Constabulary.

Waikato Military Settlers

See also ‘Waikato Immigration Scheme’ in Migration. Four regiments of Waikato Militia military settlers were raised to help control the Waikato and Bay of Plenty after the 1860s wars. Many men were recruited in Australia. Their service entitled them to land grants but much of the land surveyed was unsuitable for farming and was deserted or bought up by speculators.

• Nominal & Descriptive Rolls

  • 1st Regiment 1863-1867 AAYS 8692 box 1 Repro 16-17

  • 2nd Regiment 1863-1866 AAYS 8692 box 2

  • 3rd Regiment 1863-1866 AAYS 8692 box 3 Repro 14-15

  • 4th Regiment 1864-1867 AAYS 8692

• Index to the rolls [REPRO 62]

• Land Registers: Regiments 1, 3, 4 AAYS 8693

Auckland:

• Nominal & Descriptive Rolls

  • Ist Waikato AAYS 8692 box 1 AREPRO 4711/360

  • 3rd Waikato AAYS 8692 box 3 AREPRO 4711/361

Taranaki Military Settlers

• Nominal & Descriptive Rolls (indexed) AAYS 8660

Hawkes Bay Military Settlers

• Nominal & Descriptive Rolls (indexed) AAYS 8660 records box 16 records CD70/157 and CD72/409

Military Land Claims

Commissions investigated military land claims between 1882 and 1910.  The main records are:

• 'Compilation of parliamentary reports’ ACGT 18569 box 50 Register Room, Wellington

• Index to Compilation: Naval & Military Land Claims ACGT 18569 box 51 Register Room, Wellington

• Files for individuals are found by Collections search name searches in ACGT 18569

• 1890s Naval & Military & Volunteer Land Registers, Claims, Correspondence, Registers etc. (some grouped by province) ACGT 18542

Also see Indexes and Registers of the Lands (and Survey) Department: Register Room, Wellington.

The South African or Second Anglo-Boer War was the first overseas war in which New Zealand was involved. As an imperial war it was supported by considerable patriotic enthusiasm and local Volunteer Corps numbers reached a peak of 17,000. New Zealand sent 6337 ‘mounted rifles’ in ten contingents to South Africa, with about 8000 horses.

Proportionately New Zealand sent more troops than any other colony, but the units did not operate as a national force. Erratic and incomplete records of this force are held at in Wellington. The best lists were published in the Appendices to the Journals to the House of Representatives (AJHRs or AtoJs)

• Nominal Rolls AJHR 1900-1902 H-6. Organised by contingent and rank, alphabetically within rank.  Card index in the Reading Room.

• Casualty Rolls, published in AJHR 1900-1902 H-6

Military service personnel records

Digitised online. Searchable in Collections search by soldier’s name.

Army Department records (no files indexed, but individuals are named or listed), see Collections search listing for all records in South African War Series AAYS 8663, particularly Nominal Roll, South African soldiers 1923-1947 (some part lists only) AAYS 8663 Record 8000.

• Veterans’ Graves 1901-14 AAYS 8663 8002

• Contingent Casualties 1900-55 AAYS 8663 8003

• Appointment nurses 1900-1957 AAYS 8663 8008

• Casualty Records 1900-1902 AAYS 8663 boxes 11 - 17

• Repatriation Records 1900-1902 AAYS 8663 boxes 18 – 23

Medals

• Medal & Award Rolls etc. AAYS 8665 boxes 4 - 9

• Index to South African War Medals, contingents 1-5 AAYS box/item 9/21

Unit records do not usually mention individuals and the sequences are not complete ADQY 17499 & several records in AAYS 8663

Volunteers c1903-1907

Commandant’s Office, 592 Personnel files for volunteers c1903-1907 AAYS 8679

A Permanent Militia, operating as a standing army, was established in 1886 to take over the military functions of the Armed Constabulary. In 1909 it was renamed the Permanent Force.

• Registers & Descriptive Rolls of Permanent Force Personnel 1880-1925 (not all indexed) AAYS 8654

• Personnel Files (few files, for surnames beginning with K & L) AABK 22209

• Defaulters Sheets for some members of the permanent force AAYS 8666 and item 17 and series 27149. Use the Card Index of Defaulters (see Armed Constabulary).

Registers of Army Commissions 1862-1914

• Card Index of Army Commissions to 1911 (in Wellington reading room) gives references to various lists and register books AAYS 8653, including:

  • Register of Commissions, Permanent Force, etc 1900-1911 AAYS 8653 item 13

  • Registers of Commissions c.1900-1921 AAYS 8653 items 14 to 19.

The Armed Constabulary was raised under the Armed Constabulary Act 1867. Its members were in active service mainly 1868-71. In the 1870s the Armed Constabulary was at the forefront of settlement in ‘frontier’ areas of the North Island, building roads and serving both a military and a police purpose. The attack on Parihaka in 1881 was the last active service for the Armed Constabulary which was divided into Police and a military Field Force in 1886.

General Records

• Many useful records are included in Staff Records, Armed Constabulary ACIS 17649

• Armed Constabulary (AC) Description Book ACIS 17649 item 1 MICRO 6429. This may include: number, swearing-in date, appointment, place of birth, occupation, and physical characteristics.

• Indexes to the two sequences of the Armed Constabulary Description Book ACIS 17649 item 2 and item 4 REPRO 64 & MICRO 6429

• Register of Appointments 1869-1879 & Public Works Camps 1880 ACIS 17649 item 3 Micro 6429

• Defaulters Sheets AAAL 27149

• Card Index to Defaulters Sheets is held in the Wellington Reading Room

• Record of Conduct Book & Index ACIS 17649 item 93 Index REPRO 64

• Nominal Return of officers in the Defence Department and Armed Constabulary AJHR 1873 H-24A

• List of those transferring from the Armed Constabulary to the Police AJHR 1897 H-38A & H-38B

Rolls - Armed Constabulary

There are many Nominal and Muster Rolls, often called Descriptive Returns, usually restricted to a specific time and place. The overall date range of the rolls is 1863-1885, but most belong to 1868-1869 ACIS 17649 items 5-96. These records include two general returns:

• Return [List] of Armed Constabulary Officers (no date) ACIS 17649 item 73

• Descriptive Roll from the Defence Office on reorganisation of the (AC) Force 1867-1869 ACIS 17649 item 74. This roll includes people who served in other police and military forces before 1867. It contains some information not found in the Description Book, including ship and date of arrival in the colony.

• Police Station Diaries: early records may contain relevant material: Police stations may be listed as an ‘Agency’ on Collections search for example Police Station, Te Kapu ADVX

Historical War Graves

The Wellington archive holds a card index of graves of personnel and veterans who served in the wars of the 1840s to the 1860s.

• Historical War Graves Index Cards - reference: ACGO 8398 boxes 9-12

Nominal Returns of Killed or Wounded

New Zealand Gazettes 1863-1865 include lists of troops (imperial and colonial) killed or wounded at various engagements in those years. Other lists of ‘Killed in Action’ and ‘Died of Wounds’ are to be found in the Appendices to the Journal of the House of Representatives

• AJHR 1871 G-1A (p7 – pre11 July 1868 deaths)

• AJHR 1871 G-1 (pp8-10 – post 11 July 1868 deaths)

There was some air involvement of New Zealanders in the First World War. A few records of this are held in Army Department archives. [AD 1/35/132 (2nd sequence); AD 11/1; AD 19/106; AALJ 483].

A permanent air force, later the Royal New Zealand Air Force, was established in 1923, and Archives New Zealand holds many of its records. Access restrictions apply to some records. The main records which might be useful to family historians are:

• Air Accident files c1929-1956 – accident reports (some photographs) [AIR 1 25/2; a few 25/1]

• Register of Air Accidents 1948-1986 (mostly civil) [PABV 7151] (Files: ABVX 7333)

• Biographies of Deceased Personnel 1939-1945 (11 volumes alphabetical) [AIR 118/62/1-11; MICRO 3511-3531 (odd numbers only)]

• Lists of RNZAF Personnel (31 lists, including servicemen, embarkation, casualties, POW) overall range 1936-1948 [AIR 118/76]

• RNZAF Files, mainly organisational, overall range 1927-1980 [AABK W4266]

• RNZAF Unit Diaries Operations Squadrons, 1930s to 1950s, mainly Second World War [AIR 135-173]

• RNZAF Unit Diaries/Histories 1944-1999 [ABFK 7232]

• RNZAF New Zealand Stations, 1930s to 1950s, mostly Second World War [AIR 180-198]

• RNZAF Overseas Stations, Second World War [AIR 200-213]

• Royal NZ Air Force activities in South East Asia 1964-1969 [ABFK 7281/44 26/1/20 Part 1]

• Microfiche of Closed Military Personnel Files: Air Force 1989-1997 [ABKK 6914/1-5] Access permission from New Zealand Defence Force required.

Photographs

• Albums 1-47 [AIR 118/64]

• Index to Albums 1-47 [AIR 118/75e drawers 1-8]

• Other photographs, in envelopes, boxes, albums [AIR 118/65-75]

Air Force / Navy Record

‘Index B’ [N 15/13] A record of New Zealanders who served 1939-1945 in the British Fleet Air Arm, in associated British Air Force Squadrons and bases, and on British naval vessels. There is considerable detail about a few people, but for most just brief notes about their service.

Access restrictions apply to some Naval records. Army Department files on troop movements in the First World War include some information about troopships and troop movements [AD 1/25]

Naval archives include:

• Subject files

  • Originally unclassified material 1925-1949 [N 1]

  • Originally secret material 1925-1949 [N 2]

• Ships’ Logs (1913-1969 – dates vary for each ship)

  • A Ship’s Log was the formal record of a ship’s activities. Other items are also held, including Deck Logs, which are less formal records. Each ship had its own logs, often in monthly sections. [N 40-124]

• Additional Ships’ Logs, including diaries and photographs (1948-1995) [ABFK 7592 & W3492]

Other records of the Navy Department include:

• Signal Logs 1914-1934 [N 3]

• Official Documents [N 10]

• Intelligence Summaries 1940-1945 [N 11]

• Casualty List Royal New Zealand Navy, 1939-1945. Gives personal details of where and when killed, filed 22 September 1955 [N 12/34]

• Records: War History Branch of the Department of Internal Affairs [N 15]

• Medals and Decorations – correspondence relating to (3 files) 1916-1955 [N 1 13/4/5 Box 323]

There are extensive Naval Staff Multiple Number Subject Files [ABFK 7395] which include:

• Compassionate Grants Civilian 1944-1986 [ABFK 7395 61/14/5]

• Wills 1958-1988 [ABFK 7395 61/14/6]

• Operations & Movements of HMNZ Ships, overall range 1958-1986 [ABFK 7395 62/1/10-121]

Other Navy Staff files relate more directly to personnel:

Personnel (overall range 1932-1986, most from 1950s) [ABFK 7395 66/1-22] These include:

• Advancement of Ratings [ABFK 7395 66/1]

• Appointment of Officers [ABFK 7395 66/2]

• Discharges (including Funerals & Graves) [ABFK 7395 66/5]

• Discipline [ABFK 7395 66/6]

• Examinations [ABFK 7395 66/7]

• Manning [ABFK 7395 66/10/…]

• Medals, Decorations & Badges [ABFK 7395 66/11]

• Training [ABFK 7395 66/16]

• Welfare & Recreation [ABFK 7395 66/19]

Access restrictions may apply to some material.

• Microfiche of Closed Military Personnel Files – Navy 1989-1997 [ABKK 6492] Access permission from New Zealand Defence Force

Seafarers

Various Seafarers’ Records of Service were created between 1941-1995, and these came to us from the Maritime Safety Authority. The records are organised by occupation and then alphabetically by surname. They list the seafarers' name and date of birth, the ships upon which they had served and the dates of service. These can also be used for finding WW2 Merchant Marine seaman alongside the Merchant Navy Medal Card index cards (see below).

There is a gap in the records for 1955-1962 [ABPL 7460 W4963].

The records cover:

• General Seamen

• Cooks & Stewards

• Deck Officers

• Engineers

• Supernumeraries

Merchant Navy War Medal Index Cards

The Merchant Navy War Medal Index records the issue of war medals, and is split into two alphabetical sequences, one for World War I and a second for World War II.

• World War I A-K & L-Z [ABPL 7461 W4963/50-51]

• World War II A-H, I-S, T-Z [ABPL 7461 W4963/47-49]

At the end of the Second World War New Zealand sent J-Force to take part in the occupation of Japan 1945-1948.  Records of this force can be found in the War and Army Department archives.  The records include:

• War diaries (all units), routine orders and office papers ADRA

• Alphabetical Roll of Personnel of Advance Party and Main Body “Jayforce” who embarked from Italy. ADQZ 18886 record DA 510/14

• Nominal Rolls J-Force (2 volumes) AAYS 8638 record 349/1/38 part 1 and record 349/1/38 part 2

• Nominal Rolls – Embarkation & Disembarkation – J-Force AAYS 8638 records 349/1/47 to 349/1/51

Some Second World War records include the J-Force.

New Zealand participated in the United Nations force in Korea from 1950 to 1953, then until Commonwealth forces withdrew in 1958. Records of this force can be found in the War and Army Department archives. The records include:

• War diaries, routine orders & office papers ADRB

• Nominal Embarkation Rolls AAYS 8638 subseries 349/4/

• Treatment of Prisoners of War AAYS 8638 record 339/6/4

• K Force Discipline AAYS 8638 record 310/14/1

• Nominal list: ‘Unclaimed commemorative scrolls for those who died on Active Service’ AAYS 20193

The Malayan ‘Emergency’ involved battalions from a New Zealand Army Regiment and a Special Air Service Squadron. Relevant records are held as War Archives – Malaya Force ADRC

• War Diaries ADRC 17586

• Supplementary material, including Photographs ADRC 17588

Most records of New Zealand’s involvement in the war in Vietnam are still held by the New Zealand Defence Force. But we hold:

• List of Battle Casualties 1965-1971 ABFK 6744

• Personnel: Honours & Awards: Vietnam Campaign Medal ABFK 7494 record 31/5/13 part 1 and part 2 and part 3 - Restricted

• NZ Vietnam Force – ‘V Force’ Operations Activity Reports ACIP 8727 record 42/17/1 part 1 - Open Access

• ABFK W3593 42/17/1 part 2 - Restricted

For RNZAF records: see Air Force

• War Graves: Korea, Malaya, South Vietnam AAAC 17726 box 18

• Death Cards: NZDF Death Cards 1954-1973 (died serving overseas) ABFK 6739 box 1

Restricted - Microfiche

• Army 1993?-1997? (966 files) AABK 6913

• Navy 1989?-1997? (4374 files) AABK 6492

• Air Force 1989?-1997 (687 files) AABK 6914

Conscientious Objector files: Labour Department – Restricted

Wellington:

• National records ACGV 8823

• Blenheim ACJG 8845

• Gisborne ACJT 8846

• Hastings ACJI 8847

• Lower Hutt AEVG 22253

• Masterton ACJJ 8849

• Napier ACJK 8850

• Nelson ACJL 8844

• New Plymouth ACJM 8851 Palmerston North ACJN 8852

• Rotorua ACJQ 8853

• Tauranga ACJT 8857

• Wanganui ACJO 8855

• Wellington ACJP 8854

• Whangarei ACJR 8856

Auckland:

• Auckland BBAI 22944

• Hamilton BCAS 23004

Christchurch:

• Christchurch CAVO CH449

• Timaru CAXC CH573

• Greymouth CAXD CH576

Dunedin:

• Dunedin DAAM D355

• Invercargill ADOF D356

Not publicly listed on Collections search ABOO 25419

Personnel Records:

• Held by New Zealand Defence Force

British Forces Air Force and Navy Record

‘Index B’ AAYT 8498 item 13 New Zealanders who served 1939-1945 in the British Fleet Air Arm, inassociated RAF Squadrons and bases, and on British naval vessels: detail about a few people, but for most just brief notes about their service.

New Zealand Air Force

Few Army Department records of WWI airmen & aircraft:

• AAYS 8638 record 35/132

• AAYS 8648 subseries 1

• AAYS 8652 subseries106

• AALJ 483 record number prefix D

Records of the first permanent air force established 1923 include:

• Air Accident files c1929-1956 – accident reports some photographs ADQA 17211 subseries 25/2 and 25/1

• Register of Air Accidents 1948-1986 (mostly civil) PABV 7151

• Biographies of Deceased Personnel 1939-1945 11 volumes & supplementary material ADQA  17263 items 62a-62l/753 part 3

• RNZAF Personnel 37 lists, including servicemen, embarkation, casualties, POW 1936-1948 ADQA 17263 boxes 107 and 108 items

• Air Staff Files 1927-1980 see list of subseries AABK 7281

• RNZAF Squadron Records 1930s to 1950s, mainly WW2. Each squadron has its own Collection search series. Search using Squadron name/number: formerly AIR135 - AIR173

• RNZAF Unit Histories (diaries) 1940-2000 ABFK 7232

• RNZAF New Zealand Stations, 1930s to 1950s, mostly WW2. Each station has its own Collection search series. Search using station name: formerly AIR180 – AIR198

• RNZAF Overseas Stations, WW2. Each station has its own Collection search series. Search using station name: formerly AIR 200-213

• Publicity, RNZAF activities Malaya and South East Asia ABFK 7281 record 26/1/20 parts 1, 2, 5 & 6 and ADQA 17211 record 26/1/20 parts 1 – 4

• Microfiche of Closed Military Personnel Files: Air Force 1989-1997 ABKK 6914 - Restricted

Photographs

• Albums and Photographs : see subseries list for ADQA 17263

• Index to Photographs in Albums ADQA 17263 item 75e parts 1 - 8

Unit Histories & Operations Record Books

These series may be identified in Collections search using the name of the Squadron or search terms such as ' Unit Histories”. There are approximately 50 such series. Generally these records are Restricted for 25 years from year of closure of the file. Examples include:

• Royal New Zealand Air Force unit histories (diaries) ABFK 7273

• Royal New Zealand Air Force [RNZAF] Unit Histories ADQA 17452

• No. 41 (T) [Transport] Squadron ADQA 17356

• No. 40 (T) [Transport] Squadron ADQA 17355

British Forces Air Force and Navy Record

‘Index B’ AAYT 8498 item 13 New Zealanders who served 1939-1945 in the British Fleet Air Arm, inassociated RAF Squadrons and bases, and on British naval vessels: detail about a few people, but for most just brief notes about their service.

Royal New Zealand Navy

Army Department files on troop movements in the First World War include some information about troopships and troop movements. AAYS 8638 subseries 25  

Navy Department archives:

• Originally unclassified files 1925-1949 [AAYT 8490] see list of subseries

• Originally secret files 1925-1949 AAYT 8491

Ships’ Logs: the formal record of a ship’s activities. Other items are also held, including Deck Logs, which are less formal records. Each vessel has its own Collections search series. Search using HMNZS [vessel name]: formerly N40 - N124.

• Additional Ships’ Logs, including diaries & photographs (1948-1995) ABFK 7592 & AALJ W3492

• Signal Logs 1914-1934 AAYT 8492

• Official Documents AAYT 8493

• Intelligence Summaries WW2 AAYT 8494

• Casualty List, 1939-1945: personal details of where and when killed: filed 1955 AAYT 8495 item 34

• War History Papers: Department of Internal Affairs AAYT 8498

• Medals and Decorations: correspondence 1916-55 AAYT 8490 box 323 record 13/4/5 in 4 parts

There are extensive Naval Staff: Multiple Number Subject Files ABFK 7395. Many are Restricted. This series includes:

• Compassionate Grants Civilian 1944-1986 ABFK 7395 record 61/14/5

• Wills 1958-1988 ABFK 7395 record 61/14/6

• Operations & Movements of Ships 1958-1986 ABFK 7395 subseries 62/. See subseries information.

• Personnel (overall range 1932-1986, most from 1950s) ABFK 7395 subseries 66/]. See subseries information page 1.

• Microfiche of Closed Military Personnel Files – Navy 1989-1997 ABKK 6492

Nurses: see New Zealand Army Nursing Service for WWI and Nursing Service for WW2

• Personnel Files for Māori Women so-called ‘Duplicate Files’ – supplementary to originals with NZDF, see - Restricted. Listed by name but not all file titles include reference to WAAC ABFK 18805 Accession W3629

• New Zealand Women’s Royal Army Corps AAPZ 26642

• Women's Royal Army Corps Burnham 1944-1977 CAWO Accession CH503 held in Christchurch 

• Women’s Auxiliary Army Corp (WAAC) & Women’s Royal Army Corps (WRAC) AALJ W3449

• Women in Wartime Material AAUR W3263