Research Guides

These Archives New Zealand Research Guides contain summaries of commonly used records held at Archives New Zealand. The guides provide brief details of records held, including archives references, as well as advice about the information contained. Please note that the Research Guides are not comprehensive and can only cover a small proportion of Archives New Zealand's total holdings.

Citizenship
This research guide describes records relating to: Citizenship, Naturalisation, Aliens, Chinese records.

Personal Identity
This research guide describes records relating to: Births, Deaths and Marriages, Intentions to Marry, Coroner's Inquests, Probates, Other Records.

War
This research guide describes records relating to: Nineteenth Century, First World War 1914-1918, Second World War 1935-1945, Post Second World War, Air Force and Navy, Other Records.

Migration
This research guide describes records relating to: Shipping Records, Immigration 1840-1880s, Immigration 1880s-1970, Special Group/Nationality Migrations, Other Sources of Immigration Information, Emigration.

Education
This research guide describes records relating to: Department of Education, Education Boards, Teachers, Universities.

Mental Health
This research guide describes records relating to: Institutional Records, Court Records, Health Department Records.

Government Employment
This research guide describes records relating to: General Lists/Public Service Lists, Departmental Employment Records.

Making a Living
This research guide describes records relating to: Private Employment, Work, and Financial Status.

Photographs - Wellington
This research guide describes records relating to: the collection of photographs held at the Wellington office of Archives New Zealand.

Land - Wellington
This research guide describes records relating to: Deeds and Lands & Survey held at the Wellington office of Archives New Zealand.

Welfare
This research guide describes records relating to: Child, Adult and General Welfare.

Art - Wellington
This research guide describes records relating to: the collection of art held at the Wellington office of Archives New Zealand.

Law and the Courts - Wellington
This research guide describes records relating to: civil and criminal court records held at the Wellington office of Archives New Zealand.