Treaty of Waitangi – Te Tiriti o Waitangi

He Whakaputanga Header

Te Tiriti o Waitangi – The Treaty of Waitangi is not a single large sheet of paper but a group of nine documents: seven on paper and two on parchment. Together they represent an agreement drawn up between representatives of the British Crown on the one hand and representatives of Māori iwi and hapū on the other. Named after the place in the Bay of Islands where it was first signed on 6 February 1840, the Treaty was also signed at locations around the country over a seven-month period. Read more.

About the Treaty of Waitangi

About Te Tiriti o Waitangi

View the Treaty of Waitangi Online

View Te Tiriti o Waitangi Online

Treaty of Waitangi Signatories

Read Te Tiriti o Waitangi Biographies

Treaty of Waitangi Film

Watch the Voyage of Te Tiriti

Treaty of Waitangi related records

Records Related to Te Tiriti

Visit He Tohu

Visit He Tohu and See Te Tiriti o Waitangi

Back to Provenance of Power